Tags

, ,

Today was not the best day. It wasn’t terrible, but I have a few things to rant about.

First, I am taking a class this summer called Government and Natural Resources. I did not do so well on the test we got back today. I got the four last questions all wrong…sad, I know. Nothing is better than flipping through your test and noticing no red marks at all and then seeing wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong.

Second, the stupid laundry machine at our apartment is broken. It’s been broken for over a week. The clothes in my dirty laundry are starting to smell. This may be due to the fact that after I go running, I throw my sweaty clothes into my hamper and they never really even dry. Sorry for the gross image there. Good thing I will be home Sunday and my mom will most likely do my laundry for me. Sorry mom.

Third, Sarah is already camping in Door County, and I am not. Anthony left me too. Sad.

So I was sad and lonely (okay, that’s probably an exaggeration) and didn’t know what to make for dinner. I tried not to be an emotional/lonely/eat the whole box of mac and cheese eater because I knew that I could come up with some sort of yummy and healthy comfort food. I went to the grocery store and picked up a plantain and a sweet potato for $1.71. Anthony gave me his broccoli before he left as well.I cut them up and roasted them in the oven with some olive oil and sea salt. I forgot how much I love roasted broccoli. Parchment paper is a lifesaver with plantains…I made some buckwheat groats on the stovetop as well.First layer of comfort bowl: buckwheat groats and roasted sweet potatoes.Second layer: roasted broccoli and plantains.

The yummy stuff: pumpkin seeds and raisins.The even yummier stuff: a drizzle of Wisconsin honey and some tahini.There’s nothing better than a nice warm bowl of grains, roasted veggies, some sweetness, and some crunch. Bowls and hashes will always be one of my favorite comfort dinners. My first ever “bowl” was in Portland, from a food cart called The Whole Bowl, and now I love the concept.

I’m not going to lie though, I really would like some chocolate, and I am working on a 15 page paper for another summer class I’m taking. Therefore, I think I will make a single serve cupcake with a nice cup of chai tea. Tomorrow will be a better day, and I will be reunited with Sarah, her family, my family, and Anthony up in Door County for a weekend of camping. We will definitely be posting about campfire food and Door County pancakes!

