Tags

, , ,

I can fully admit that I am the stereotypical Wisconsinite. I joined Cheese Club my first semester of college. Up until a month ago, I thought that every state had cheese curds as a staple at every restaurant and was appalled to hear this was false. No, I actually do not own a cheesehead, but I did get my first cheese poster in the mail a few weeks ago.

I tend to keep most dairy products out of my diet for various reasons, but I could never in a million years give up cheese. Havarti. Gouda. Cheddar. Feta. You name it, I want it (maybe not brie though haha).

As with most foods, however, I think that moderation is key to enjoying cheese as part of a healthy diet.

Recently, I bought Gouda from the farmers market near my home. It came from Saxon Homestead Creamery, a farm located in Cleveland, WI. This farm focuses on sustainable farming, is a UW-Extension Farm (a farm that works closely with the universities to help with research, some of which I get to actually visit for my job), and produces darn good cheese.Image
By buying cheese that is local and sustainable made, I can keep my cheese consumption in check, but still enjoy every single bit of cheesey goodness. When it comes to cheese, quality definitely rules over quantity, and a little bit goes a long way.

Jasmine and I used the Gouda in a recipe to try to create an old favorite we would frequently get from Taco Bell in high school: The Crunchwrap Supreme.Image
With the help of Food Should Taste Good chips, local tortillas, homemade refried beans, and a few vegetables, we were able to make a healthier, homemade version of a normally greasy fast food staple.Okay, so it doesn’t look exactly like a Crunchwrap Supreme, but this cheesy, crunchy, quesadilla-looking meal tasted even better than a Crunchwrap, without any of the bloating and burping that usually follows a late night Taco Bell run. Mmmmmm. And remember, always cheese responsibly.

