Tags

, ,

After a quick Friday morning run, I packed my things and took the Badger Bus home. My hometown in not my favorite place in the world, quite the opposite actually, but it’s nice to see my kitties every so often. And my parents of course. I hate the fact that you have to dry literally everywhere. The main places to eat within walking distance are McDonald’s and Culvers, and I gave up that food I long time ago. The whole county just looks like sprawl. It’s not pretty, there’s really not much to do, and it’s definitely not like Madison where there are at least 10 nice restaurants in a square mile radius. And I’m sick of all of the “I stand with Scott Walker” signs. I can only stand a few days of having to see those things before I really feel the need to get out.

But on a more positive note, my mom picked me up from the bus stop and we headed straight to Café Manna, which is one of my favorite restaurants of all time actually. It’s completely vegetarian and offers tons of vegan, gluten-free, and even raw options.I ordered the polenta florentine, which happened to be vegan. Three polenta cakes with sautéed wild mushrooms, spinach, onions, and cherry tomatoes topped with a vegan béchamel sauce and fresh arugula.  It was pretty much amazing, and I really want to learn how to make grilled polenta.  My mom got a tofu, lettuce, avocado and tomato sandwich, also known as the T.L.A.T.It’s impossible to go to Café Manna without ordering dessert, and even though their desserts are pricey, they are worth it. I got “cheesecake” that was raw, vegan, and gluten free, made from nuts and coconut oil. Yes, those are swirls of cocoa. It was delicious.My mom got one of the small bites, an orange-chocolate brownie/fudgie thingie. She loved it, but I despise oranges.

Saturday was full of currant-picking and spending some quality time with my cats, Tobi and Holden. Tobi always guilt-trips us into letting him outside when we are sitting on the patio. He’ll paw at the glass door and meow constantly. I let him outside. First he acted all innocent and just rolled around on the concrete, but two minutes later he dove straight underneath the bushes to chase some small creature. I had to rescue him…I was not happy.
We only picked one currant bush because there were still a lot of green ones.  My parents aren’t sure what there are going to do with these ones, so they’ll throw them in the freezer for now. They have made tons of varieties of wine with currants in the past.
My parents are also growing some tomatoes and peppers on the patio, and they are looking pretty good! I have to say I am proud of them!

My other cat, Holden, is named about the troubled character in The Catcher in the Rye. I may have cursed him with the name since he’s a bit anti-social as well, but he loves me. He could also lose a pound or two…
I also did a ton of grocery shopping with my mom this weekend (thank you mom). We also went to both the Brookfield and Menonomee Falls farmer’s markets. Brookfield’s was pretty nice and I got cheese, mushrooms, zucchini, and tomatoes. Menonomee Falls had two vendors…it was their first Sunday market of the year. Needless to say, I went home from that one empty handed. I was really looking forward to getting some Great Harvest bread from there, but I guess I’ll have to come home again soon for that!

I am now back in Madison and Sarah and I are attempting to bake bread. If it succeeds, we’ll post about it. If not, we will have to add it to our collection of bread failures (we have many). Fourth of July is coming up soon, and we will definitely be making some cherry pie with cherries that Sarah got from the Madison market this week. I am seriously excited. We may need to buy some fancy ice cream to go along…

