Tags

, ,

I must credit the following recipe to my dad. Being his stubborn daughter, however, I obviously had to make some changes. His recipe did not call for okra, but we saw some at the farmer’s market this week and really wanted to try it out.

I had never eaten okra before, and I wasn’t even aware that it could be grown in Wisconsin! My dad told me this recipe served 4… DO NOT LISTEN TO HIM. I was a bit concerned that my parents don’t eat… I would say that this feeds two people when served with some bread or pita. Sarah came up with the idea of adding garbanzo beans into this dish to add in some protein as well, so we will probably do that the next time we make it! Otherwise, I really liked this recipe because it was quite simple, and I never feel guilty about eating vegetables. Seriously, look at all those farmer’s market veggies!Ingredients

½ pound green beans, cut into one inch pieces
6 (or so) okra pods, sliced
1 can tomato paste
3 cloves garlic
1/4 cup of minced cilantro
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tomatoes, diced
1 onion, diced
½ cup water
1 tablespoon ground coriander
salt and pepper, to tasteInstructions

  1. Sautee the green beans, okra, garlic, and onions in the olive oil until the onions are translucent and slightly browned.
  2. Add in the tomatoes, tomato paste, cilantro, spices, and water. Turn the heat down to low and simmer for about 30-45 minutes. Serve warm with bread or pita (you can see our sad portion sizes below).
